Making an Abstract Art is an Adventure

I’m the kind of person who loves taking unusual side roads to discover wonderful things that are sometimes too impossible to see in the main highways.  I remember when I was a kid; my dad would take me out driving in the country with no real destination in mind. Then I would ask hi, “Dad, are you sure we are not lost?” He would simply smile and say “What if we are? Isn’t fun?” Dad was always seeking for adventures, so do I!

Adventure

Similarly in my way of creating my art, I take pleasure in not knowing exactly where I’m headed. I found out in order to get to place where I wanted; I must begin without any destination or purpose in mind, unfettered by wondering what the outcome would be. I don’t care about the mess it would create (getting painted in my hair, or on the floor, or on my clothes) they are all given, anyway. Or if I don’t want everything around me looks messy, I would make sure that there are lots of clothes around visqueen from the hardware store is good or even old useless shower curtains.

I’m not also worried at that point about spoiling a pristine white canvas. As a matter of fact, I like to completely cover that white as fast as I could, just to get that fear out of the way. Sometimes I apply a single even tone over the entire canvas; there are also times I like to apply multiple pours. Then, I would look for as many ways as possible to apply paint to canvas.

Appropriate Tools You Can Use for Abstract Painting

To achieve the abstract art paintings that I want, I have tools at hand. I needed rollers, brushes in various sizes, squeegees, a wall paper brush, rags, and all assortments of faux-finishing tools.

I love using almost anything in my abstract paintings except the normal suspects to get something interesting started. I pick one, apply some paint, then pick another, apply paint again, the third, and apply some more paint. (It’s more helpful for me when I play the music of my favorite artist during painting).

At this point, I might usually combining colors that I think are ugly together. After all, if I didn’t, then I might miss an exiting fresh new color combination.

As wet paint sits there, I would scratch through it with different mark making tools, or make marks over it with a long stick dipped in another color. I would also or not add texture to it (this is what I often do). I may then scuff, sand, and rub through some areas and come out with a fantastic abstract art painting.

Just go with the flow

If the rhythm is right and the flow is great, I will come out with an abstract painting right out of the seeming bedlam. There are also times that I need to work at it a little more to bring things together with a single amalgamating color, or some organizing structure. Or on other days, I would put the whole things aside and look at it again later to decide what I must do next. This part of the process is something of a mystery, but like what I said, I like adventure!

Leave a Reply

