Digging the deeper meaning of the abstract art

Most people who did not actually understand what abstract art is would probably say “even my six-year old could do that”. These people are usually lack of mental ability to appreciate any artwork in a gallery painting.

But if a piece of art is to have meaning for anyone other than the artist, it needs to have something that will keep hold of the viewer’s attention, draw them in, keep them looking, and produce an emotional feedback.

For the viewers of abstract paintings ask yourself these following questions:

  1. Am I trying to find out what it looks like or represents rather than allowing something to materialize from what I see in front of me?
  2. What are the colors, textures, and elements of the painting?
  3. How do they intertwine with each other?
  4. What emotions do the painting inducing?
  5. How the title influences the things I see?
  6. Did I allow enough time to make a connection with the abstract art paintings?

For the artists creating an abstract painting, ask yourself these questions:

  1. Do I just want my abstract painting to look beautiful?
  2. Do I want something to express something in particular from this painting to my viewers?
  3. Do I want my viewers dig up their own meaning from my artwork?
  4. How those elements are interacting from each other?
  5. Would I want to lead my viewer’s interpretation with my choice of title?
  6. Would I want to write my statement to accompany the painting explaining how I made it, what are my thoughts were while I’m doing it?
  7. Is it a big deal for me if they don’t get what my painting means?
Leave a Reply

